Journey restrictions: The Council examines the listing of third international locations for which Member States ought to steadily raise restrictions on non-essential journey

Following a evaluation underneath the Suggestion on the phasing out of non permanent restrictions on non-essential journey to the EU, the Council up to date the listing of nations for which restrictions needs to be lifted. As set out within the Council Suggestion, this listing will proceed to be reviewed each two weeks and, the place acceptable, up to date.

Primarily based on the standards and circumstances of the Suggestion, Member States ought to, from 28 January steadily abolish journey restrictions on the exterior borders for residents of the next third international locations:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • China, topic to reciprocity affirmation

Journey restrictions also needs to be phased out for the precise administrative areas of China Hong Kong and Macao, offered that reciprocity is confirmed.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican needs to be thought-about as EU residents on this Suggestion.

The standards to find out the third international locations for which the present journey restriction is to be lifted embody particularly the epidemiological state of affairs and containment measures, together with bodily distance, in addition to financial and social concerns. They’re utilized cumulatively. Reciprocity also needs to be thought-about frequently and on a case-by-case foundation.

Schengen related international locations (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) additionally take part on this suggestion.


On 16 March 2020, the Fee adopted a Communication recommending a short lived restriction of all non-essential journey from third international locations to the EU for one month. EU Heads of State and Authorities agreed to implement this restriction on 17 March. The journey restriction was prolonged by one other month on April 8, 2020 and Could 8, 2020, respectively.

On 11 June, the Fee adopted a Communication recommending an additional extension of the restriction till 30 June 2020 and setting out a method for the gradual lifting of the restriction on non-essential journey to the EU from 1 July 2020.

On 30 June, the Council adopted a suggestion on the gradual lifting of non permanent restrictions on non-essential journey to the EU, together with a primary listing of nations for which Member States ought to begin lifting journey restrictions at exterior borders. The listing is reviewed each two weeks and up to date as acceptable.

The Council’s suggestion will not be a legally binding instrument. The authorities of the Member States are nonetheless chargeable for implementing the content material of the Suggestion. They might, in full transparency, solely steadily raise journey restrictions towards the listed international locations.

A Member State mustn’t determine to raise journey restrictions for non-listed third international locations till this has been determined in a coordinated method.

Spread the love
[ Sharing is Caring! ]

More Tags We Love

Hamilton tickets los angeles Laser eye surgery age Driving careers Task management software open source Can I Pay My Progressive Car Insurance With A Credit Card Mattress sales uk Online training programs free Hard money ap gov Low interest balance transfer credit card australia California No Fault State Car Insurance

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar